Samyutta Nikaya - Venerable Dhammavuddho

This is a collection of readings and discussions of the Samyutta Nikaya (Topical Discourses of the Buddha) by Venerable Dhammavuddho Maha Thera during the vassa of 2009 at Vihara Buddha Gotama (VBG). A vassa is a Buddhist rain retreat, typically observed by the Theravadan Buddhist monks. It usually falls in the month of July, and lasts for 3 months.


The Samyutta Nikaya is divided into 5 sections or divisions called vagga. The 5 vaggas contain 56 chapters, grouped according to topics.
  1. The first is Sagatha Vagga, the section on verses, containing 11 chapters.
  2. The second is Nidana Vagga, on Dependent Origination, containing 10 chapters.
  3. The third is Khanda Vagga, on the 5 aggregates of attachment, containing 13 chapters.
  4. The fourth is Salayatana Vagga, on the 6 sense bases, containing 10 chapters.
  5. The fifth is called the Maha Vagga, which contains some teachings of major Buddhist doctrines, such as The Noble Eightfold Path, the seven bojjhanga, and the Four Foundations of Mindfulness. It contains 12 chapters.

SN00 - Introduction

Sagatha Vagga

SN01 - Devata Samyutta
SN02 - Devaputta Samyutta
SN03 - Kosala Samyutta
SN04 - Mara Samyutta
SN05 - Bhikkhuni Samyutta
SN06 - Brahma Samyutta
SN07 - Brahmana Samyutta
SN08 - Vangisa Samyutta
SN09 - Vana Samyutta
SN10 - Yakkha Samyutta
SN11 - Sakka Samyutta

Nidana Vagga

SN12 - Nidana Samyutta